Double Check Your 3-way Link requests

August 21st, 2008 by admin

We’ve received several requests recently for three way link exchanges that are complete spam. Earlier, I wrote how 3-way link exchanges help the site they are intended to help – the site you are being asked to link to… but do little to help your site. Usually it will be a request for a link from “Boring-Useless-Web-Directory.com” to your site in exchange for a link from your small, concise, topic-matching resource page to their site.

These requests however, appear to be a link from a really nice, on-topic site or page – to your site… in exchange for a link to your site. Tempting?

Does the site they are linking from sound familiar? It should – it’s a link that’s already in place. Basically – they write saying they’ve placed a link in ‘our site’, but instead its a link that’s already been in that directory for some time, that you or someone else arranged. Most of the time we receive these – it’s a good chuckle because the site they claim to be theirs – is another one of our client sites. They could at least CREATIVELY spam!

Here’s what every single e-mail we’ve rec’d looks like — we’ve x’d out some details to protect the websites.

———————————–

We have placed your link here on our site HERE :

http://www.xxxxxxxxx.com/xxxxxx/directory.asp

We have used the following linking details for your site :

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

URL: http://www.xxxxxxxxxxxx.net/

TITLE: Site title

DESCRIPTION: Site description

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

I would be glad if you could provide a three way link to our site http://xxxxxxx.org/ site on your links page.You can copy and paste our linking code below on your links page:

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

URL: http://xxxxx.org/

TITLE (CLICKABLE): driving traffic school

DESCRIPTION: dmv driving traffic school, drivers ed drivers education insurance.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Thanks,

Various names and Email addresses
————–

I really really want to post the domain name and the website that these spammers are operating from, but I can’t in such a public forum. You are welcome to write us however, and I will give you the domain name of this company so you can block their e-mails, as we have.

Share

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply